Riverside, New Jersey has a rich and interesting history. Samuel Bechtold founded Riverside, first called “Progress,” in 1851 as a resort town; however, before that, it was known simply as Goat Town. People came here to enjoy our forests, meadows, streams and ponds. In the summertime, the city of Philadelphia became quite oppressive and so it was a breath of fresh air to vacation in Riverside’s country atmosphere.
Our town once housed the world’s largest watch case manufacturer, Philadelphia Watch Case Company, which did business around the globe from the Philadelphia Watch Case Company Building located in what is known now as the Golden Triangle. It was in an era when everyone carried a pocket watch. The building’s clock tower has since become a Riverside landmark and the Watchcase factory as well as numerous hosiery mills in town helped war efforts during WWI and then again in WWII.
Riverside also is known for The BOOST! Company. In 1913, pharmacist Benjamin Faunce invented “Tak-A-Boost,” and served it to customers at his Bridgeboro Street pharmacy to help the medicine go down easier. BOOST!, a syrup/concentrate combining a blend of citrus flavors, remains a popular thirst quencher today!